Mutual Recognition of Professions

​​The Mutual Recognition of Professional Qualifications is an important aspect of the free movement of citizens throughout the EU. This is governed by Directive 2005/36/EC on the Recognition of Professional Qualifications which has been transposed into national legislation primarily by means of the Mutual Recognition of Qualifications Act 2002 (Cap 451) and the Recognition of Professional Qualifications Regulations (S.L. 451.03).  The law lays down the framework through which regulated professions are to be recognised by ‘Designated Authorities’ being the entities responsible for each individual regulated profession.   ​ List of regulated professions and competent authorities or assistance centres​
The requirements of mutual recognition vary depending on the profession and on whether the individual wishes to:

  • permanently settle and practice a profession in a host Member State (what is known as ‘establishment’) in which case recognition is required;

  • Or

  • practice the profession on a temporary or occasional basis in host Member State in which case the individual will need to submit a declaration to the Designated Authority concerned.
  • The regulated profe​ssions database​ provides information on which professions are regulated by which authority in other Member States.  You will need to know either the name of the profession in the local language or its English translation.  This is an important tool for those wishing to establish themselves or provide services on a temporary basis in other Member States. Information on the database and the principles of mutual recognition is available here​.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

    Web Address
    Name & Surname *
    Your Email *
    Rate it *
    Comments and suggestions *